deeply

February 13th 5pm (EST) – 2pm (PST) – 11pm (CET)

Fred Santambrogio (stage director), Matteo Manzitti (composer) and Matilda Colliard (cellist) will share some insights into their upcoming production of this unusually moving and striking work about love and loss. This event will include live music and audio-visual segments. With an introduction by Francesca Campagna (General Director, CCO).

watch now

a sweet silence in cremona

November 30th | 5pm (EST) / 2pm (PST) / 11pm (CET) / 10pm (GMT)

TALK + MUSIC

CO-PRESENTED WITH NYU CASA ITALIANA

Meet Roberto Scarcella Perino (composer) and Mark Campbell (librettist) for an exclusive behind-the-scenes look at this comic story. The one-hour conversation will be accompanied by musical segments featuring Jessica Fishenfeld (soprano) and Andrea Obiso (violinist). Introduction by Stefano Albertini (Director, NYU Casa Italiana) and Francesca Campagna (General Director, CCO).

Roberto Scarcella Perino, music/Mark Campbell, libretto. Inspired by a recent event when the mayor of the Italian city imposed a moratorium on urban noise
while the Museum of Violins recorded its renowned string instruments for posterity. In collaboration with NYU-Casa Italiana

watch now

outcast at the gate

December 1st | 7:45pm (EST) / 4:45pm (PST)

by Joel Feigin

READING WITH PIANO | ONLINE PREMIERE

Outcast at the Gate is a drama about refugees: a blind old man, supported by his daughter, seeks food and shelter. It is also a drama of redemption: the old man is “stained to the core of his existence.” At the same time, he is somehow innocent: he is Oedipus, former king of Thebes, who has unwittingly killed his father and married his mother. The end will find him a prophet, leading his daughters and the king of his new homeland to a miraculous appointment with the waiting gods.

watch now

a danger to us all: typhoid mary

March 6th – 5pm (EST) / 2pm (PST)

A backstage conversation with Amy Ziff (librettist/producer) and Peter Kiesewalter (composer, multi-instrumentalist) about the chamber Pop-Opera based on a true story. This event includes live music and audio-visual segments.

watch now

opera america virtual roadtrip

December 15th | 6pm (EST) / 3pm (PST)

TALK HOSTED BY OPERA AMERICA

Marc Scorca (President, Opera America) invites the Center for Contemporary Opera for a conversation about the opera scene in America, and CCO’s place in it, past and present. We’ll discuss the company’s distinguished history, and delve deep into our current development projects, with a view to civic engagement and sustainability.

free registration

we the innumerable

Coming soon

TALK

An exclusive discussion with Niloufar Nourbakhsh (composer) about the creative process behind her Opera America Discovery Grant-winning opera We, The Innumerable.